Alamance County Homepage
Alamance County Homepage Alamance County Departments Alamance County Services Search Alamance County Site Alamance County Community Resources Alamance County Contacts

 

  Graham Library May Memorial Library North Park Library    
 

Main Menu

Library Catalog

Children's Services

Information Services

Circulation Services

Internet Services

Information Sources
from NCLIVE and more!

Calendar

Library Locations

Friends Groups

Events

Community Information

 

Alamance County Public Libraries
Information Sources
From NC LIVE and more!
NC LIVE provides North Carolina residents and students with access to high quality information - searchable collections of magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, electronic books, historical materials, maps, and much more - covering a wide range of topics.

Resources from NC LIVE
(partial listing -- for complete list go to www.nclive.org)

Alphabetical Listing          Subject Listing


[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W] 

-- A --

Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subject areas from 1984 to present.
Includes many complete articles from over 1,000 journals, including 380 journals dating back to 1990.
African-American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Indexed from 1750 to 1900.
American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
Indexed from 1600 to 1900.
 
[A] [B] [C] [D] [E] [F] [G] [H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W]

-- B --

Business Source Elite via EBSCOhost
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 1500 business magazines and periodicals from 1984 to present, including The Wall Street Journal.
Includes many complete articles from more than 750 business periodicals.

[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W]


-- C --

CINAHL (Nursing) via EBSCOhost
Indexes articles appearing in 900 journals in 13 allied health disciplines, including nursing. Covers 1982 to present.
Consumer Health Resources 
              Recommended Health Websites for NC LIVE

[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W]


-- D --

[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W] 


-- E --

Encyclopedia Britannica

Encyclopedia of Animals via EBSCOhost
Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
Includes many complete articles from 1990 to present
English Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
Essentially the complete English poetic canon from 600 to 1900. Over 165,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
Indexed from 600 to 1900
ERIC (Education) via EBSCOhost
Indexes over 750 journals in the field of education from 1966 to present.
Includes full text of ERIC Digests from 1967 to present.

[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W]


-- F --

Faber Poetry Library via Chadwyck-Healey
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. The Faber list includes Ted Hughes, Seamus Heaney, T. S. Eliot and Sylvia Plath covering the seventy year history of this major publishing house.
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia via EBSCOhost
Full text of over 25,000 subject entries in the encyclopedia..

[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W] 


-- G --

[A] [B] [C] [D] [E] [F] [G] [H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W]


-- H --

Health Source Consumer Edition via EBSCOhost
              Provides consumer oriented information on many health topics
              including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition,
              childcare, sports medicine, and general health.  Includes 
              searchable full text for over 150 consumer health journals.
Health Source Nursing Edition via EBSCOhost
             Provides more than 400 scholarly full text journals focusing on 
             many medical disciplines.

[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W] 


-- I --

[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W]


-- L - M --

 
MAS Ultra - School Edition via EBSCOhost
            A comprehensive general reference database designed for high
            school and junior college libraries.  Total coverage includes over 
            1 million articles.
MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Covers a wide variety of topics from about 3,100 magazines and journals from 1984 to present.
Includes many complete articles from more than 1500 periodicals from 1990 to present
MEDLINEplus
             MEDLINEplus has extensive information for health professionals
             and consumers from the National Institutes of Health and other
             trusted sources on hundreds of diseases and conditions.  There
             are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical 
             encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish,
             extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs,
             health information from the media, and links to thousands of
             clinical trials.
Middle Search Plus via EBSCOhost
            
Designed to assist middle and junior high school students
             in learning how to research current events and information on a
             wide range of general topics.  Total coverage includes nearly
             400,000 articles.

[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W]


-- N --

netLibrary via netLibrary
         
 
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 10,000 
           reference, scholarly, and professional books.
New York Times via ProQuest company
Index of the newspaper from August 1986 to present.
Contains complete articles from the most recent 90 days of the paper
News and Observer Index [Raleigh] via ProQuest Company
Indexes articles from December 1991 to March 2000
News and Record Index [Greensboro] via ProQuest Company
Indexes the newspaper's articles from 1995 to present.
Includes a few complete articles from 1988 to 1994 and most articles from 1995 to present.
Newspaper Source via EBSCOhost
Provides abstracts and indexing 1995 to present for: The New York Times, Wall Street Journal (Eastern and Western editions), Christian Science Monitor and USA Today. Selected full text
coverage for The News & Observer.  Includes some complete
articles from over 100 other U.S. newspapers.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries via Alexander Street
                           Press
            
Over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000
             pages of previously unpublished materials depicting the 
             personal experiences of hundreds of women.
             Remote access coming soon.

            
Contains materials from Colonial times to 1950.
North Carolina Information Resources
             
A selection of external links to other information about North
              Carolina's culture, history, business, education, agencies and
              public programs.
NoveList via EBSCO NoveList
A readers' advisory service. Helps readers find new books based on books they've read or topics in which they are interested.
Includes many book reviews

[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W]


-- O --

[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W] 


-- P --

Primary Search (Children's Magazines) via EBSCOhost
Indexing and abstracting of 116 children's magazines from 1984 to present.
Includes many complete articles from 35 children's magazines from 1990 to present. Also includes Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, the World Almanac for Kids and the World Almanac of the USA
ProQuest Newspapers via ProQuest Company
             
Includes Wall Street Journal, New York Times.
PsycINFO (Psychology) via SilverPlatter PsycINFO
Indexes over 1300 journals in psychology and related disciplines from 1887 to present.
PubMed
              A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides
             access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional
             life science journals.  PubMed includeslinks to many sites
             providing full text articles and other related resources.

[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W]


-- S --

Serials Directory via EBSCOhost
Provides up-to-date information and pricing for popular magazines and other serials. Contains listings for over 150,000 U.S. and international titles, including 8,000 newspapers. Also includes data on over 87,000 publishers worldwide.

[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W]


-- T --

Twentieth Century African-American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
A collection of poetry written by the most important and influential African American poets of the twentieth century. Presently includes over 6,000 poems from over 100 complete editions by 46 poets.
Indexed from 1901 to 1998
Twentieth Century American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
A database of modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Presently includes 36,000 poems drawn from 460 volumes by 217 poets.

[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W] 


-- U --

[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W] 


-- W --

Wall Street Journal via ProQuest Company
Index of articles from 1981 to present.
Includes many complete articles from 1984 to present.
WorldCat via OCLC FirstSearch
Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide.

[A] [B] [C] [D[E] [F] [G[H] [I] [M] [N] [O] [P] [S] [T] [U] [W]

NCLIVE Databases by Subject

rolodex.gif (266 bytes)Business Resources

Business Source Elite

oneopenbook.gif (331 bytes)Magazines & Journals
Academic Search Elite
MasterFile Premier
Primary Search (Children's Magazines)
Serials Directory
booksglobe.gif (450 bytes)General Reference Resources
Encyclopedia of Animals
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
NoveList
WorldCat
newspaperextra.gif (305 bytes) Newspapers

New York Times

Newspaper Source

Wall Street Journal
 
penscroll.gif (721 bytes)Poetry Resources
African-American Poetry
American Poetry
English Poetry
Faber Poetry Library
Twentieth Century African-American Poetry
Twentieth Century American Poetry
medsym.gif (287 bytes)Health & Medical Resources
CINAHL (Nursing)

Health Source Plus

NC Health Info Website

cap.gif (328 bytes) Academic & Special Subjects
Academic Search Elite
ERIC (Education) via EBSCOhost
North Carolina Information Resources
PsycINFO (Psychology)

What is NC LIVE?

NC LIVE (North Carolina LIbraries for Virtual Education)
is the state's electronic library, created to give you access to magazine articles, national and local newspapers, business and professional journals, reference sources, and research material -- all electronically.  This exciting online information goes far beyond anything readily available over the Internet and represents a rich and diverse information resource to help you in your work, school, and other aspects of your daily life.  Resources found at this site are provided to North Carolina public libraries by the N.C. General Assembly and include an index to North Carolina newspapers, many full-text magazine and journal articles, up-to-date encyclopedias, and business, medical and legal databases.

NC LIVE is brought to you through a partnership of public, academic, and community college libraries and is funded by the North Carolina General Assembly and the state's independent colleges and universities.  NC LIVE is available to anyone who uses an NC LIVE library.

NC LIVE is available through the Internet terminals at all public libraries in Alamance County.  Library users can also access NC LIVE from computers outside the library with a valid library card and NC LIVE password.

Obtain your personal password now to access valuable computer reference databases on the Internet.  Remote users who have a valid library card with any of the Alamance County Public Libraries may access this website from their home or office Internet computers by obtaining a limited-time password from the Reference Department at May Memorial Library.   Simply telephone 336-229-3588 or send email to reference.staff@alamancelibraries.org to obtain your password.

Passwords will be reissued every 4 to 6 months to eligible library cardholders upon request.  Area residents may obtain a library card by visiting any branch library location in Alamance County and presenting proof of current address.  NC LIVE passwords are for individual use and should not be shared with others due to the terms of vendor licensing agreements.

 

Site Design and Layout approved by the Alamance County Website Committee.

If you have questions or suggestions about the site design and layout, please feel free to contact the County Webmaster.  Other questions may be answered by calling (336) 228-1312.

This page and all pages under the alamance-nc domain are © 1999, 2000, Alamance County.  All Rights Reserved.